

Dear President Michel, Dear President Macron, Dear President von der Leyen, Dear Vice-President Borrell, Brussels, 24nd of March

The war in Ukraine will soon go into the fifth week, and the Russian aggression shows no sign of diminishing, despite the heroic efforts of the Ukrainians, military and civilians alike.

The humanitarian suffering caused by the Russian attacks are truly unprecedented, and we welcome all investigations, including by the International Criminal Court, of likely crimes against the laws of war.

While we welcome all the unprecedented measures that the EU has quickly taken over the last weeks, we regard them as insufficient and we urge the European Union to immediately and urgently strengthen the sanctions taken against the Russian Federation.

We undersigned call for a full and immediate trade embargo against Russia and Belarus, including a ban on trade of oil, gas and coal.

We equally call for an immediate extension of the so-called Swift sanctions to all Russian and Belarusian financial institutions, thus closing any possible loopholes.

It is our strong conviction that the sanctions must not only become deeper, but also reach a wider part of the Russian governing elite. We call for the inclusion on the sanctions list of a broader segment of Russian officials, governors and mayors that abide by the current policy of the Putin regime and benefit thereof.

We also call for a strong response towards those third countries that help in the circumvention of the sanctions imposed on Russia and Belarus, and for EU sanctions to be extended and imposed on those responsible for collusion with those on the sanctions list.

Guy VERHOFSTADT, RE, Belgium Luis GARICANO, RE, Spain Siegfried MUREŞAN, EPP, Romania Andrius KUBILIUS, EPP, Lithuania Raphaël GLUCKSMANN, S&D, France Maria ARENA, S&D, Belgium

Alin MITUTA, RE, Romania Yannick JADOT, Greens, France Nicolae STEFANUTA, RE, Romania Pascal DURAND, RE, France Alexander YORDANOV, EP, Bulgaria Emma WIESNER, RE, Sweden Abir AL-SAHLANI, RE, Sweden

Javier NART, RE, Spain

Aušra MALDEIKIENĖ, EPP, Lithuania

Lukasz, KOHUT, S&D, Poland

Juozas OLEKAS, S&D, Lithuania

Olivier CHASTEL, RE, Belgium

Andrus ANSIP, RE, Estonia

Damian BOESELAGER, Greens, Germany

Monica SEMEDO, RE, Luxembourg

Rasa JUKNEVIČIENĖ, RE, Lithuania

Bernard GUETTA, RE, France

Dacian CIOLOS, RE, Romania

Marie TOUSSAINT, Greens, France

Petros KOKKALIS, The Left, Greece

Claude GRUFFAT, Greens, France

Nicola BEER, RE, Germany

Jan-Christoph OETJEN, RE, Germany

Andreas GLÜCK, RE, Germany

Moritz KÖRNER, RE, Germany

Svenja HAHN, RE, Germany

Inese VAIDERE, EPP, Latvia

Traian BĂSESCU, EPP, Romania

Vladimír BILČÍK, EPP, Slovakia

Susana SOLÍS PÉREZ, RE, Spain

Franc BOGOVIČ, EPP, Slovenia

Vlad-Marius BOTOS, RE, Romania

Ramona STRUGARI, RE, Romania

Ivars IJABS, RE, Latvia

José Manuel FERNANDES, EPP, Portugal

Aurore LALUCQ, S&D, France

Karin KARLSBRO, RE, Sweden

Tomasz FRANKOWSKI, EPP, Poland

Malin BJÖRK, The Left, Sweden

Vlad GHEORGHE, RE, Romania

Milan ZVER, EPP, Slovenia

Jacek SARYUSZ-WOLSKI, ECR, Poland

Lucia ĎURIŠ NICHOLSONOVÁ, RE, Slovakia

Pierre LARROUTUROU, S&D, France

Urmas PAET, RE, Estonia

Liudas MAŽYLIS, EPP, Lithuania

Eugen TOMAC, EPP, Romania

Vilija BLINKEVIČIŪTĖ, S&D, Lithuania

Dace MELBARDE, ECR, Latvia

Ilhan KYUCHYUK, RE, Bulgaria

Irena JOVEVA, RE, Slovenia

Henna VIRKKUNEN, EPP, Finland

Karen MELCHIOR, RE, Denmark

Petras AUŠTREVIČIUS, RE, Lithuania

Isabel WISELER-LIMA, EPP, Luxembourg

Tomas TOBÉ, EPP, Sweden



Christophe HANSEN, EPP, Luxembourg Izaskun BILBAO BARANDICA, RE, Spain Ivan ŠTEFANEC, EPP, Slovakia Domènec RUIZ DEVESA, S&D, Spain Roberts ZĪLE, ECR, Latvia Marc ANGEL, S&D, Luxembourg Marina KALJURAND, S&D, Estonia Eric ANDRIEU, S&D, France Jerzy BUZEK, EPP, Poland Marek Paweł BALT, S&D, Poland Jaak MADISON, ID, Estonia Witold Jan WASZCZYKOWSKI, ECR, Poland Michèle RIVASI, Greens, France Mauri PEKKARINEN, RE, Finland Nathalie LOISEAU, RE, France Robert BIEDRON, S&D, Poland Paulo RANGEL, EPP, Portugal Dragos PÎSLARU, RE, Romania Róża THUN UND HOHENSTEIN, RE, Poland Krzysztof HETMAN, EPP, Poland Mikuláš PEKSA, Greens, Czcechia Zdzisław KRASNODEBSKI, ECR, Poland Martina DLABAJOVÁ, RE, Czechia Dita CHARANZOVÁ, RE, Czechia Sophia IN 'T VELD, RE, Netherlands Thijs REUTEN, S&D, Netherlands

Petri SARVAMAA, EPP, Finland Jörgen WARBORN, EPP, Sweden Hilde VAUTMANS, RE, Belgium Anna FOTYGA, ECR, Poland Janina OCHOJSKA, EPP, Poland Jarosław DUDA, EPP, Poland Sandra KALNIETE, EPP, Latvia Charlie WEIMERS, ECR, Sweden

David LEGA, EPP, Sweden

Dragoş TUDORACHE, RE, Romania Romana TOMC, EPP, Slovenia Jiří POSPÍŠIL, EPP, Czechia Damien CARÊME, Greens, France Billy KELLEHER, RE, Ireland Ulrike MÜLLER, RE, Germany

